Upcoming Webinar | What to Know Before You Join a Board: Effective Strategies for Emerging Board Directors

News & Events

Upcoming Webinar | What to Know Before You Join a Board: Effective Strategies for Emerging Board Directors
3
Oct

Upcoming Webinar | What to Know Before You Join a Board: Effective Strategies for Emerging Board Directors

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. PDT
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. MDT
1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. EDT

Serving on a board provides you with unique opportunities to develop or enhance your leadership skills, get involved in your community, use competencies outside of the workplace, and develop or expand new professional and personal networks. Yet, before you begin your board governance journey, it is important to ask the right questions that will position you for success. For example:

  • Does the organization’s vision and mission align with your passion and interests?
  • Do you have the governance competencies to serve on a board?
  • What experiences and skill sets do you bring to the board?

Join us on Tuesday, October 17th for a conversation with Catriona Le May Doan, O.C.(Sport Calgary), Avnish Mehta (Calgary Public Library), Catherine Halkett (CH Not for Profit Consulting) and Virginia Clark (City of Calgary) on their personal experiences serving on boards, what to consider before applying, and effective strategies for getting that board position.


Register Now


 

Early Bird Rate (Register before October 6th) ………. $40
Regular Rate …………………………………………………….. $50

DiverseCity onBoard Paid Subscribers ………………….. Free w/ Promo Code

Please note our webinar connection has changed. To join this webinar a computer and computer speakers and/or headphones are required to listen in. There is no telephone option to join the webinar.


This webinar is presented in collaboration with Bow Valley College.